Upcoming Events


Please visit the Calendar to see a full listing of upcoming events.

In The News

Idaho Statehouse

Welcome to IAHU!

IAHU is the State of Idaho chapter of the National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU), which represents more than 100,000 licensed health insurance agents, brokers, consultants and benefit professionals across America.  Our membership consists of local agents, producers, company representatives, and other insurance professionals.  Our members are dedicated to helping meet the health, financial, and retirement security needs of all Americans. 

Our vision is that through the services of insurance professionals, every Idahoan will understand and have access to private sector solutions for health, financial and retirement security needs.



2020 IAHU Sponsorship Applications!



2020 Health Symposium

Vendor Packets

Attendee Registration

Symposium Schedule



List of IAHU Members 


Welcome to NAHU

NAHU Triple Crown Club

Visit National Association Website!
Find an Agent in your area

Follow NAHU on LinkedIn Follow IAHU on LinkedIn  

Become a fan of NAHU on Facebook Become a fan of IAHU on Facebook

President's Message Brett
March 2019
Brett Thomas- IAHU President 


Last month I camped in the hills with my son and his scout troop. It was cold. The kind of cold that – no matter how many layers you put on, or how many cups of hot chocolate you drink – you just can’t quite take the edge off. It just lingers at the tips of your fingers and toes. Moving is the only thing that truly helps, so when you settle for the night the cold starts to move deep into your bones.  I slept (or rather laid) wrapped in three sleeping bags, on a cot, in a tent. Not a canvass winter tent but a flimsy summer dome tent. I stuffed hand warmers in my gloves, my socks, my armpits…you name it. Over the course of that sleepless night I asked myself more than once, “Why am I doing this?”. As I look back – now that I’m thawed – the answer is clear, the lessons my son and his friends were learning by being together and facing the hardship of a frozen sleepless night were important. I wanted my son to have that experience, and it was worth the effort.

Serving in this association can sometimes bring me to that same question, “Why am I doing this?”. I appreciate the events of the past month that remind me of the answer. Capital Conference and Day on the Hill are great reminders to me of the value this association delivers to me personally and to the industry that provides my living.

If you ever wonder if your dues are making a difference, I invite you to attend Capital Conference so that you can see the influence our association has on impactful legislation at a national level. That said, I urge you to consider becoming a HUPAC contributor – if you aren’t already – your small contribution really does make a difference. I’m happy to report that Idaho had 100% HUPAC contribution from those attending Capital Conference this year, which was no small feat considering that we had our largest attendance (18) on record. Thank you, Rhonda Bartholomew, for your efforts with HUPAC.

Day on the Hill reminds us that we don’t have to look very far to find issues and legislation that hold sway. Here in our home state we’re dealing with issues like Medicaid expansion, prescription drug costs, new licensing requirements, expanded short term plans, and balance billing to name just a few. Attending Day on the Hill helped me stay apprised on important topics that effect my clients, and I earned a few CE credit hours in the process. Thanks to Kim Tower and David Wilcox for the tremendous effort they put in to deliver a worthwhile event. I loved the programing changes and felt that the content was hugely relevant.

My hope for all of those that are in the trenches working to make our association better, who at times feel to ask, “Why am I doing this?” will be able to look back at a job well done and feel that the effort was worth it.

Thank you,
Brett Thomas
President, Idaho Association of Health Underwriters 2018-2019






IAHU Insurance Continuing Education

IAHU Platinum Sponsor

Please visit or Sponsors page and find out more about the companies that support us.